Like in most other states, it is unlawful for a person to be driving under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance in Arizona. A DUI, DWI or Extreme DWI can have lifelong consequences. The penalties for a DUI conviction depend on the type of DUI the person is charged with and the criminal record of the defendant.

Arizona is a zero-tolerance state when it comes to underage drinking and driving. Anyone below the age of 21 years driving under the influence will be charged with a separate offense, even if the person is not impaired to the slightest degree. The DUI offense for underage drivers is referred to as “baby DUI”, which carries a two year license suspension along with other penalties.

If someone is operating a commercial vehicle with a BAC of 0.04 or above in Arizona, they will be charged with DUI. The penalties and punishments for a regular/non-extreme DUI/DWI in Arizona are defined under ARS 28-1381 of the revised statutes.

First offense regular DUI

A first offense regular DUI in Arizona carries a mandatory minimum jail time of 1 day, and fines and surcharges of up to $2,100. This does not include jail costs. The driver’s license will be suspended for a minimum of 90 days and he or she will be required to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle for 1 year. A first offense regular DUI is considered a misdemeanor in Arizona. The judge may order alcohol screening or education and may even order to perform community service.

Second offense regular DUI within 7 years

A second offense regular DUI in Arizona carries a mandatory minimum jail time of 30 days, and fines and surcharges of up to $2,500. This does not include jail costs. The driver’s license will be suspended for a minimum of 90 days and he or she will be required to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle for 1 year. The judge may order alcohol screening or education along with community service.

First Extreme DUI Conviction

A BAC of 0.15% or more leads to an Extreme DUI charge. If convicted of a first Extreme DUI conviction, the person will have to face a mandatory jail time of 30 days, and fines and surcharges up to $2,500. This does not include jail costs. The driver’s license will be suspended for a minimum of 90 days and he or she will be required to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle for 1 year.

In Extreme DWI convictions, the court may order the person not to consume alcohol for a period of 30 days or more. The person may be required to wear an alcohol monitoring device on their ankle or submit to regular chemical testing.

Second Extreme DUI Conviction

A second extreme DUI conviction within 7 years will lead to a mandatory jail time of 120 days and fines and surcharges up to $2,500. This does not include jail costs. The driver’s license will be suspended for 1 year and the offender will be required to install an ignition interlock device for 18 months.

First Super Extreme DUI Conviction

A BAC of 0.20% or more is considered a Super Extreme DUI which carries a mandatory jail time of 45 days, along with fines and surcharges of up to $2,500. This does not include jail costs. The driver’s license is suspended for a minimum of 90 days and they will be required to install an ignition interlock device for 18 months.

Second Super Extreme DUI Conviction

A second Super Extreme DUI conviction with any prior DUI conviction for DUI/DWI within 7 years carries a mandatory jail sentence of 6 months, along with fines and surcharges of up to $2,500. This does not include jail costs. The driver’s license is suspended or 1 year and installation of an Ignition Interlock device is required for 24 months.

For more information on DUI penalties in Arizona, visit AZDUIHelp.org

This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *